Microbiome Innovation Cluster - Advisory Board Members


The FAU Microbiome innovation Cluster is blessed to have the following distinguished individuals as members of the Advisory Board who provide general oversight and feedback, helping to accomplish the goals and expand the network of the Cluster.


Dr. Claude Gerstle

  • President, MIT Club of Palm Beach
  • Retired ophthalmologist & Fervent advocate for Excellence in Science Education, Technology, Research and Climate Solutions
  • Email: cgerstle22@gmail.com

Dr. Tito Sempertegui, PhD

  • Senior Instructor
  • Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry,
  • Charles E. Schmidt College of Science
  • Florida Atlantic University
  • Boca Raton, FL 33431
  • Phone: (561) 297-2508
  • Email: Tsempert@fau.edu

Dr. Thomas Badilla Hispanic-Serving Institution Liaison

  • United States Department of Agriculture
  • Office of the Secretary
  • Office of Partnerships and Public Engagement
  • Email: thomas.badilla@usda.gov

Gary Matteson

  • SVP Beginning Farmer Programs and Outreach
  • The Farm Credit Council
  • 50 F St NW Suite 900
  • Washington, DC 20001 202-834-3522
  • Email: matteson@fccouncil.com

Pablo R. Sacasa, Ph.D

  • Interim Dean School of Science
  • Miami Dade College
  • 11380 N.W. 27th Ave, Room A329
  • Phone: (305) 237-8094
  • Email: psacasa1@mdc.edu

Donna Chamely-Wiik, Ph.D.

  • Assoc. Dean for Undergraduate Research & Prestigious Fellowships, Undergrad Studies
  • Associate Scientist, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Florida Atlantic University
  • 777 Glades Road, GS 212
  • Boca Raton, FL 33431
  • Email: Dchamely@fau.edu